Development partnershipsSubscribe to RSS feed

Key Commitments:

The Constitutive Act ofthe African Union, signed on 11 July 2000 at Lomé, Togo, set out the codifiedf ramework for the African Union (AU) and its relationship with member statesand regions. Subsequent AU commitments have sought to build on regional integration. In the Accra Declaration, for example, signed at the 2007 Assembly of the African Union 9th Ordinary Session Declaration, Heads of State pledged to accelerate the economic and political integration, including the formation of a Union Government.

Development partners have pledged to support this process. The Strategy for Africa, emphasized support for regional integration and development strategies and programmes of different Regional Economic Communities (RECs) at the regional level, including the thecre ation of regional integrated markets following the conclusion of Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA) negotiations. The subsequent 2007 Africa-EU Partnership Joint Strategy pledged to work to assist regional integration of the RECs into the current institutional architecture. Initiatives building out of Africa-European Summits at Cairo (2000) and Lisbon (2007) have helped structure development partnerships between the two continents, detailed in the Cairo Plan of Action and 2007 Africa-EUPartnership.  In 2008 the Accra Agenda for Action also outlined a commitment to develop partnerships with developing countries for poverty reduction purposes.  

Support has also come from the G8. In the 2002 Kananaskis Africa Action Plan, G8 leaders pledged to support NEPAD and its objectives, and in the Heiligendamm Summit Declaration on Growth and Responsibility in Africa, commitments weremade to support regional integration and Capacity Development Initiative for Regional Economic Communities. In 2004 a specific Partnership for Progress, was signed with the governments of the Broader Middle East and North Africa.