G8 L'Aquila Declaration of the Leaders: The Major Economies Forum on Energy and Climate

Sectors : Adaptation, Climate change technology and research
Organisation : G8
Date made: 
Heads Of State

Commitments in: Climate Change - Adaptation

"We, the leaders of Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, the European Union, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, South Africa, the United Kingdom, and the United States met as the Major Economies Forum on Energy and Climate in L’Aquila, Italy, on July 9, 2009, and declare as follows:

...Our vision for future cooperation on climate change, consistent with equity and our common but differentiated responsibilities and respective capabilities, includes the following:

2. ...Adaptation to the adverse effects of climate change is essential. We will work together to develop, disseminate, and transfer, as appropriate, technologies that advance adaptation efforts.

3. ...Drawing on global best practice policies, we undertake to remove barriers, establish incentives, enhance capacity-building, and implement appropriate measures to aggressively accelerate deployment and transfer of key existing and new low-carbon technologies, in accordance with national circumstances.

4. ...Additional investment in developing countries should be mobilized, including by creating incentives for and removing barriers to funding flows...”