Assembly of the African Union 9th Ordinary Session, Declaration, Accra, Ghana, 1-3 July 2007

Sectors : Regional cooperation and integration
Organisation : AU
Date made: 
Heads Of State

Commitments in: Development partnerships - Regional cooperation and integration

“We, the Heads of State and Government of the African Union...


1. We agree to accelerate the economic and political integration of the African continent, including the formation of a Union Government for Africa with the ultimate objective of creating the United States of Africa.

2. We agree on the following steps to attaining the Union Government:
a) to rationalize and strengthen the Regional Economic Communities, and harmonize their activities, in conformity with our earlier decision, so as to lead to the creation of an African Common Market, through the stages set in the Treaty Establishing the African Economic Community (Abuja Treaty), with a reviewed and shorter timeframe to be agreed upon in order to accelerate the economic and, where possible, political integration;

b) to conduct immediately, an Audit of the Executive Council in terms of Article 10 of the Constitutive Act, the Commission as well as the other organs of the African Union in accordance with the Terms of Reference adopted by the 10th Extraordinary Session of our Executive Council held in Zimbali, South Africa on 10 May 2007;

c) to establish a ministerial Committee to examine the following:
i.) identification of the contents of the Union Government concept and its relations with national governments;
ii.) identification of domains of competence and the impact of the establishment of the Union Government on the sovereignty of member states;
iii.) definition of the relationship between the Union Government and the Regional Economic Communities (RECs),
iv.) elaboration of the road map together with timeframes for establishing the Union Government; and
v.) identification of additional sources of financing the activities of the Union.”